Amanda and Pip

Before the whole world was turned upside down, I was lucky enough to conduct the wedding of Amanda and Pip.

Manda and Pip were married in Warrnambool on a beautiful February day. They had their ceremony at the River, a part of the Deakin University Warrnambool campus.

A wonderfully secluded spot was set up, with some seating and a lovely arbour made by Amanda’s brother.

Pip and Manda have a special love story. It began almost 5 years ago at a party for Chelsea who Manda was living with at the time. Pip wasn’t really that keen on going. He had some work and school stuff going on at the time but, as he has told me, he is glad that he went. What a different story this would be if he hadn’t gone! Luckily he went to that party! Manda’s first impressions of him were that he was very opinionated and that he enjoyed baiting people (which she may have joined in a little!) She liked the fact that he was immediately very open about his life and nothing seemed off limits. Pip remembers that he instantly noticed that she has an amazing smile. He complimented her teeth and asked if she had had braces.

As the night grew on, his attitude towards Manda changed from someone that was just fun to talk to at a party, to thinking she was really something else. Pip even tried to say goodbye twice to show he was interested.

Pip also tricked Manda into thinking that he was going to be a romantic. After she got home from their first date, flowers had already been delivered and attached was a really sweet card. She hasn’t received flowers or a card since! They have spent these years together creating a life and more chapters for their love story. Some have been big life events, like Manda receiving her Masters. Pip remembers how glad he was that he could support her through such a stressful time. Another big deal was getting their fur children, their first trip overseas and even their first trip to Warrnambool together.  Manda remembers how much Pip supported her when her Pa passed away.  

Then there are also the notable little things that they enjoy and remember. Playing Mario cart or Laser Tag, a noodle kingdom chilli incident or the time that Pip brushed his teeth with deep heat. That one was when Manda realised she should never assume something is common sense. 

Some of Mandas family affectionately describe Pip as a weirdo. Interestingly it has been observed that Pip and Manda are like a male and female version of each other, although Manda may have a better handle on when to use her filter and to not just say everything that she is thinking.

Most importantly, they make each other laugh! 

I asked Manda and Pip when they knew they were in love and they both told me the same moment. It was very early into their relationship, they had stayed up all night talking about games, music and all sorts of random things drinking some Chivas Regal. 

Pip and Manda shared some lovely insights about what they love about each other. Pip said he “loves her intelligence and her loyalty. She’s always been by my side, even when sometimes I’ve not put her first. And that is a trait I didn’t realise I valued until I got to feel it first hand.” Manda said she loves “his ability to irritate me and make me laugh in the space of 5 seconds so that I forget what was annoying me in the first place – and that he’s not afraid to tell me when he thinks I’m over thinking something, nothing is ever as bad as I think it’s going to be!” she also said “He knows how to look after me when I’m stressed and worried about uni, deadlines, work, or money . He always pushes me to stay social, even when I don’t think I have the energy because he knows I’ll always feel better afterwards.” Pip also said something that I thought was lovely “I feel like I learn something about a new subject everyday and she has the ability to keep me challenging myself to be a better person every day.”

They got married beside the river.  Pip used vows he had written about a year before when they were overseas. They had so many beautiful personal touches that made their day just so them.  Manda walked down the aisle with her Dad to music from Zelda, and they had already used the refrence that it is dangerous to go alone on their wedding invitations and they had an amazing Zelda cake.

What a wonderful day and little did we know that we wouldn’t be seeing a lot of each other for the foreseeable future. I look back and still think about how lucky I am to do what I do, when I can!

I can’t wait to marry people again, especially when its getting to marry people that are like my family. I’m so grateful that I get the front row seat and get to make them officially married. 

The photos were taken by Doc Baldwin. You can check out his website 52Photos.com to see his work.

Leave a comment

December 11, 2020 · 3:50 am

Leave a comment