A bridal shower gift with a difference

pre-wedding-photography-in-Melbourne-Australia-04

One of my oldest friends is getting married soon, and by that I mean we’ve been friends for a long time, she’s not that old! I’m very excited to be involved and feel honoured that I get to be the person that makes her and her partner husband and wife. I’m also lucky enough to be privileged to know some of the ins and outs of what is happening with the planning process. There was one thing in particular that made me very proud to be her friend.

My friend was discussing on her Facebook wedding page (super great idea, which I will blog about soon) about the bridal shower. She asked all of her bridal party their thoughts on something very special. Instead of asking for gifts for her bridal shower, my friend has decided that she will ask for people to donate to a charity on the day. She has asked for everyone’s input on which charity should be the chosen charity. What a beautiful and selfless idea. My friend already has a home with her partner and they have all the ‘kitchen’ things that they could need.

pre-wedding-photography-in-Melbourne-Australia-05

This isn’t the first time that I have seen this, although I’ve never heard of it for a bridal shower before. I also attended a wedding a few years back, one of the loveliest and unpretentious weddings I have attended. The bride and groom wore their jeans and they did the same thing, asked their guests that if they must buy a gift, to donate to any charity of the guests choosing. I think this is a lovely idea, especially when there are so many couples that already have their homes established and really don’t need too much more. Its a great way to share the love and to remind people what is really important throughout all of their planning.

I think this is so lovely? What charity would you choose? I’d pick the JDRF or any of the diabetes charities, no surprises there!

pre-wedding-photography-in-Melbourne-Australia-17

A very big thank you to Love Journal Photography for the use of their images on this weeks blog. Check out their website and have a look at their facebook and see all the new awards they have won. Congratulations Neo.

1 Comment

Filed under wedding ideas, Wedding Planning, wedding tips

One response to “A bridal shower gift with a difference

  1. Pingback: Facebook Group for your bridal party | debschergercelebrant

Leave a Reply

