Married at first sight

 

Wedding-Photography-Wedding-at-Docklands-all-smiles-18

A few weeks ago, on channel 9, Married at First Sight aired. I really wasn’t sure what it was all about. I had seen the advertisements for it and to be honest it made me angry. So I really wanted to know what it was all about. I had to watch it even if it made me more angry.

The ads led me to believe that these couples were to be married when they hadn’t even met. I wasn’t impressed. For many reasons.

Firstly, all of the talk that they were going on about that it was like other arranged marriages. I’m not to sure how people feel about arranged marriages and if they work, but I believe that most of the time when arranged marriages occur it is to do with the culture of the people getting married.

Secondly, I was confused as to how these people would be married. What about the ‘Notice of Intended Marriage’ and all of the other things that are required for a legal marriage. This annoyed me on many levels. As a celebrant, I believe that the ceremony and the promises that are made during a ceremony are special, sacred and shouldn’t be taken lightly. I was concerned that this show would be making light of this moment, or asking people that have never met, to make sacred promises to a perfect stranger.

One of the things that really bothered me is that something like this could be advertised and made to look like these people are actually getting married the first time that they meet. We live in a country where not everyone has the right to marry the person that they love, but we can make a show where two people who have never met can really ground my gears. Really? What part of this isn’t rubbing it in the face of all those people who do not have the right to marry their partner. To me it was poor taste. I thought how can we have a show where people marry who don’t know of each other and have never met, how can we let this show make a mockery out of marriage.

THEN I WATCHED THE SHOW.

OK, so it’s not a legal marriage. I feel that this wasn’t explained enough. It was kind of brushed over a couple of times and maybe the celebrants involved made it clear during the ceremonies and it was just edited out. Who knows, but lets give them the benefit of the doubt. I just thought that it was a bit rich. I’m not sure how I would have felt about doing the show if I was invited to do it, but I just wonder how the celebrants involved feel asking these people to make promises to people that they have never met, when usually the promises that they help people share are between people that are in love.

I like that there are experts matching people with potential partners and that they are using numerous different methods to do this. I like that the people that they are matching up so far seem to be people that are suited to one another and all of these things are great. It makes for an interesting television show. I just don’t know how I feel about these people ‘getting married’, I understand that they are getting these couples to move in together and live as a married couple, who doesn’t like a big party and what better way to meet all of the other sides family and friends, but do they need to make them fake married?

Have you watched it?  What do you think?

Wedding-Photography-04

Thank you to Love Journal Photography for the photos on the blog this week. Check out their website and facebook pages for more of their work.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, wedding ideas

2 responses to “Married at first sight

  1. I too thought this show was ridiculous and had to watch it! Who does this!? Who in this day and age chooses an arranged marriage!? I absolutely love it though and I’m hooked… Almost in the way that it is so bad it’s good? I am cringing at times but also laughing so much. Love these couples and I so desperately want them all to work out. Everyone deserves love and these people feel that they have exhausted every avenue to find it, so I have my fingers crossed for them.

    • I hope it works for them too, It must be hard to go on a show like that too. I just don’t like the way that the had to be married. Surely they could have named it something else and took out the ‘wedding’ part. Just feels like a slap in the face to the LGBT community. Look what we can do, we can even get married when we’ve never met.

      I guess though, we’re talking about it aren’t we. So I guess they have got publicity good or bad. I know that some of the celebrant community even petitioned for the show not to go ahead.

      But yes, I hope that someone finds love out of it. There are some nice people on there. Who really want to find love and make a family.

Leave a Reply

