Throwing the bouquet

Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo22

Throwing the bouquet is one of the traditions that has recently started being questioned. Is it necessary? Is it a waste of money? Is it just something that people do for the sake of it? This is one wedding tradition that I really quite like.  I like to watch how the toss unfolds. A lot of the time they don’t really go to plan. People hit lights, people throw it and it is lands on the ground no where near the group of ladies, people fall over, get hit with the flowers… all sorts of things happen. If you are going to take part in this tradition there are a few things to consider.

Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo02 Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo05 Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo03
Firstly, how many single ladies will be at your wedding?

The more I think about it, the idea of getting all of the ‘single’ ladies to stand up in front of everyone can seem a little bit odd.  Some of them are probably already feeling awkward, if they have been seated at a table with a lot of people they don’t know and have already had 20 questions about their personal life. But if you don’t think too deeply about it, this one can be a bit of a laugh.  Are all of your friends married and just 3 of your guests going to get up? Perhaps re-think the idea if you are only going to have a couple of people involved. However, if you have loads of unmarried friends, make it fun and have some great single lady music on!

Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo25 Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo20
Do you throw your actual bouquet, or have a throw away one made?

I’ve previously blogged about bouquets and alternatives to a floral bouquets, but there is a lot of talk about weather you throw your actual bouquet or to have a special ‘throw away’ bouquet made up. I had a big big bunch of red roses for my bouquet, I wasn’t going to throw it away!  I love red roses and knew that my husband wasn’t going to buy me that many roses at once, ever. I knew that I wanted to dry my bouquet and keep it. I still have it on my bookcase. I could do that having roses. So I had a small throw away bouquet made, lighter and easier to handle. I can understand that some people are happy to throw their original bouquet if they are having flowers that are hard to preserve or they are not the kind of people that are interested in hanging on to the flowers from their day. There are a lot of people that would be thrilled to catch the actual bouquet of the bride. Some of the forums that I have read suggest that the bride could throw one of the bridesmaids flowers. Personally I think this is a little mean. The times that I have been honoured to be in someones wedding, the flowers were really special to me. I also think they are part of the gift that you give to your bridesmaid. What if you have more than one? Who misses out on their bouquet?

Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo17 Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo15

 

Other ideas for your bouquet.

There are some other lovely ideas that you could use if you are not too interested in throwing the bouquet. You could give your bouquet or even the throw away to the couple on your wedding day that have been married the longest, Grandparents, an Aunt and Uncle, or your Parents. I think this is a lovely idea and a special way to include some of the older guests at your wedding. You could give your bouquet to someone who has particularly helped you throughout all of the wedding planning process (My sister in law had a small wedding and gave me her bouquet on her wedding day, it meant a lot to me and I still have it to this day.) You could use it as a token of love for your new mother in law, or a relative.  Or this could be a perfect moment to acknowledge the relative of someone who has passed away and you would have dearly loved to share your day.   One thing that I have read about, and which is a lovely idea, is a bride who gave special women (or depending on the size of your wedding all of the women there) part of her bouquet. The bride can spend a little time during the reception to give some of the really special women in her life part of her bouquet.

Wedding-Photography-at-Melbourne-zoo19

Do you have any other lovely ideas or suggestions of what can be done with the bouquet?

Thank you to Love Journal for the lovely photos on this blog, you can see more of their work on their website, or follow them on facebook by clicking here.

Leave a comment

Filed under wedding ideas, Wedding Planning, wedding tips

Leave a Reply

